Western Canadian string quartet, The Fretless, led the pack at this year’s Canadian Folk Music Awards, taking home two trophies for Instrumental Group of the Year, and Ensemble of the Year.

The awards, held in St John, NB featured some of Canada’s folk finest, with familiar names such as The Deep Dark Woods, Catherine MacLellan, and Rose Cousins each taking home an award.

Some of the awards went as follows:

The Fretless: Instrumental Group of the Year, Ensemble of the Year

The Once: Vocal Group of the Year

Rose Cousins: Contemporary Singer of the Year

The Deep Dark Woods: Contemporary Album of the Year

Metis Fiddler Quartet: Traditional Album of the Year

Michael Jerome Brown: Solo Artist of the Year

Two special awards were also given out to Mike Stevens, ArtsCan Circle Founder, for Innovator of the Year. Gerry Taylor was also recognized as Atlantic Canada’s Unsung Folk Hero of the Year, for his contributions as a newspaper columnist and talent scout.

For the full list of winners head over to Canadian Folk Music Award 2012 Winners.


Enhanced by Zemanta