This past week, SOCAN announced the (english) finalists for the 7th annual ECHO Songwriting Prize competition. The prize recognizes five finalists whose songs represent “the most artistic and creatively written independent compositions” of the last year.

The nominees are chosen by a panel of Canadian music industry professionals, with the winner being decided through fan voting contest, held on the ECHO website. Check out the nominated songs below and then head over to the ECHO site to vote for your favourite! 

Voting ends on October 10th, with the winner being announced on October 19th.

…and the nominees are:

Japandroids: “The House That Heaven Built”

Written by: Brian King & David Prowse


Dan Mangan: “Post-war Blues”

Written by: Gordon Grdina, Kenton Loewen, Dan Mangan & John Walsh


Kathleen Edwards: “Soft Place to Land”

Written by: Kathleen Edwards & John Roderick


Sloan: “Unkind”

Written by: Jay Ferguson, Christopher Murphy, John Pentland & Andrew Scott


John K. Samson: “Write My Masters Thesis”

Written by: John K. Samson


Be sure to vote! And head over to ECHO for more information on the ECHO Songwriting Prize.